Tags

, , , ,

by Thomas Cahill

Although professional theologians and historians have arched an eyebrow over Cahill’s books (those I have read include The Gift of the Jews and How the Irish Saved Civilization), I find great value in his contributions to both fields and especially to my understanding of world civilization. As a writer, he seems to have done excellent research into the vetted works of the above academics, but put their dry information into a lively narrative, as lively as the evolving civilization itself. I read this book at the midpoint of my ten-year drive to get a Master of Arts in Bible Studies degree, and now am re-reading it 12 years after graduation. It is reminding me that I have NOT finished discovering new ideas in Scripture, nor have I even finished analyzing what I already know. Thanks, Mr. Cahill. You do have a vivid imagination, but you harness it well.

